Housing Authority


The mission of the Housing Authority of the Borough of Madison is to provide safe, decent and affordable housing opportunities for low and moderate-income families.

The Madison Housing Authority was established in 1970 in response to local citizens' efforts to assure that families of ALL income categories might have a place to call home within the Borough.

The Madison Housing Authority's Senior and Family Affordable Wait Lists are now open until May 15th, 2021.  Please click the "For Applicants" Tab for more information and to apply.

For More Information

For all general questions relating to the Housing Authority, please contact Jessica Kirchenbauer, Office Administrator, by email or by phone at 973-377-0258, ext. 301.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent and Historical Agendas and Minutes 

Meeting Notices

Updated 2/9/2021
Please note our 2021 Amended MHA Board Meeting Notice (PDF)

Meetings will be held in the Conference Room at 4:30 p.m. in the Barbara W. Valk Firehouse Apartments, 24 Central Avenue, Madison, New Jersey.

The December meeting will be held in the Arts & Crafts Room of the Rexford Tucker Apartments, 15 Chateau Thierry, Madison, New Jersey.

View Most Recent Meeting Notice (PDF) | View Archived Meeting Notices


  • Lois Bhatt, Chairperson 
    Aug 11, 2018 - Aug 10, 2023
    Governing Body appointment 
  • Mark Chiarolanza, Commissioner 
    Jan 12, 2018 - Jan 11, 2023
    State appointment                        
  • Diane Driscoll, Commissioner
    Aug 11, 2011 - Aug 10, 2021
    Governing Body appointment
  • Melissa Elias, Commissioner
    Aug 10, 2020 - Aug 10, 2025 
    Governing Body appointment

  • Mark McBride, Commissioner     Sept 9, 2019 - Aug 10, 2024            Governing Body appointment   
  • Gary E. Ruckelshaus, Commissioner                          
    Aug 10, 2024                              Mayoral appointment
  • Jeffrey Smith, Vice Chairperson  
    Aug 10, 2017 - Aug 10, 2022        Governing Body appointment
  • Astri Baillie, Borough Council Liaison

 Madison Housing Authority Staff

  • Tanya Van Order,
    Executive Director
  • Connie Brill,
    Section 8 Housing Manager
  • Jacqueline Gray,
    Housing Manager 

  • Jessica Kirchenbauer,
    Office Administrator
  • Julio Duque,
  • Francisco Aguirre,