Borough of Madison to hold Reorganization Meeting on January 5, 2020

Governor Murphy to Conduct the Swearing in Ceremonies

Madison, NJ – December 17, 2019 - The Borough of Madison will hold its annual public reorganization meeting for 2020 on Sunday, January 5, 2020 at 3:00 P.M., in the Council Chamber of the Hartley Dodge Memorial, 50 Kings Road.

Recently re-elected Mayor Robert H. Conley, will take the oath of office for his third term as Mayor of Madison, a four-year term, which has not happened in Madison since Madison’s first Mayor James Preston Albright in 1906. As the 32ndMayor of the Borough of Madison, Conley, came into office in 2012 after serving for seven years as a Council Member.

In addition, recently re-elected Council Member Maureen Byrne, and newly elected Rachel Ehrlich will take the oath of office as Council Members, a three-year term. Byrne, who began her first term in office in 2016, will start her second term. Her running mate, Ehrlich, has been involved with the Planning Board since August 1, 2017, but will begin her first term in office.

Conducting the oath of office for Conley, Byrne and Ehrlich will be New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy. Expected to be joining Governor Murphy is recently re-elected Assemblyman John F. McKeon and Assemblywoman Mila Jasey, as well as Governor Richard J. Codey.

Mayor Conley, Council Members and Borough Officials will honor the service of outgoing Council Member Patrick W. Rowe, who served two terms as a Council Member from January 1, 2014 through December 31, 2019, and served as Council President in 2018.

The agenda will also include official action, which includes, but is not limited to, appointments and reappointments of Boards and Committees for 2020, adoption of resolutions to facilitate Borough business including awarding professional services contracts for 2020 and naming of Borough Officials.

A PDF of the release can be found here